Eyes Set on Horses

I bought a horse…

I may have lost my mind entirely.

But it is so worth it.

However, it is bankrupting me.

I have always been obsessed with Friesians. They are STUNNING. Gorgeous long flowy manes and tails, solid black coat, and incredible movement. Ever since I first laid eyes on them I have dreamed of owning my own one day. I actually added it to my bucket list – raising a horse, preferably a Friesian.

I came across a breeder’s website located about 1.5 hours from my home. She had a beautiful filly posted on the site, but when I called, the filly had already been sold. However, she had a 4 year old Friesian(75%) / Holsteiner(25%) gelding named Cornelius “Junior” currently for sale. Without any true intention of purchasing, I decided it could not hurt to take a look.

Unsure of what to expect, my mother and I drove up to her property to find an old backyard barn surrounded by fields with a handful of stunning Friesian horses grazing. Cornelius took my breath away. Solid black, full mane and tail, huge expressive eyes, sweet disposition, perfect. He was young, frisky, with practically no training. I fell in love.

Within a week I had him trailered to a stable in upstate New York for a week long trial with a very talented trainer. Here is a video from our first session:

After an interesting first week with my trainer working with him, I decided to take the leap and make a purchase of a lifetime. It was a quick decision for a very long and expensive commitment. I may have acted rashly and during a time of despair (death of my cousin), but it is something I have dreamed about since I was a little girl and it was finally becoming a reality.

Look forward to more pictures and videos! He is doing very well, solid at the walk/trot and catching on quick at the canter as well as with ground poles.

Leave a Reply

