Get Hot and Sweat

My latest obsession: Hot Yoga

Where have you been all my life?

Yoga has been a part of me on and off for the past three or four years. Due to constant schedule shifts in my life, I went from attending my gym’s yoga classes three times a week for a few months to once a week or not at all for the next few months, and so forth over the course of those three to four years. As my gym membership has recently expired and I am seeking new fitness goals and interests with more flexible class sessions (cross fit / MMA gym and yoga studio), I attended a free hot yoga open house Saturday the 28th of January at Fire Shaper.

As my first hot yoga experience, I left with mixed feelings. Being a free day, the studio was packed. Mat stacked upon mat with little to no room to stretch. At one point I felt sweat from the man behind me drop onto my foot. Disgusting. It was also a 90 minute session. Being unaccustomed to the heat and the lack of oxygen from the large crowd and being improperly hydrated, by the 70 minute mark I was ready to pass out.

The positions were relatively simple. Nothing too strenuous or complex. As someone who has practiced yoga before, I found them to be a bit dull and quickly found myself counting down the minutes to freedom as the water was pouring off of me. Slowly dripping down the small of my back and across my forehead, even into my eyes during the inverted positions. I left feeling sticky, a tiny bit looser, but mainly dehydrated and tired. Within 30 minutes I developed a splitting headache turned migraine from the dehydration and was forced to lie down for a bit.

Despite the disappointment of the open house, I ended up jumping on their sale price for newcomers of one month unlimited hot yoga for $39. How could I not at that price? My cousin also snagged the deal.

My cousin and I attended our first actual class at 6:15AM today. An ungodly hour. The class was small and consisted of the really intense yogis. With about 10 other pupils, we had all the room we could hope for. The heat was bearable and there was air to be had! This instructor was different from Saturday’s class and pushed us into flow movements and complex balance positions. With the small class size she was also able to provide some individual attention.

I left feeling elongated, open, and read to experience my day.

Leave a Reply

