Paul Risse: Small Town Raw, Big City Taste

Fresh, green, delicious, and above all, simple.

I bought Paul Risse’s first ebook this afternoon. Skimming through the recipes and his direct approach to living raw, I find myself reawakened by the ease in which he writes, lives and enjoys all pleasures of life.

I am a cynic from the northeast tramping around Manhattan for the better part of most of my days. While I love raw food, I am turned off by the spirituality of many raw food spokespeople and I know others feel the same. This has caused me to steer clear of many YouTube channels and blogs. I do not share in their divine, otherworldly tendencies. It seems every little snack or juice turns into a transcendental experience.

Paul is one of the few I can listen to without rolling my eyes and fast forwarding to the recipes. Even the spiritual nonsense. It may have to do with how devastatingly handsome he is and my kindergarten crush, especially with his new sexy clean cut hair. Regardless of his charm and good looks, he has sensibility. The man lives in Stephenville, Texas. Enough said.

I digress. The ebook is marvelous and more than worth the $14.99. Recipes are clear, concise and easy to follow. Most do not require exotic ingredients or complex preparation, but are designed after Paul’s simple day-to-day life. They also look incredibly delicious!  My eyes feasted on full page photos of bright colored fruits and luscious entrees.

Paul has a knack for creating tasty meals from the simplest of ingredients. I highly recommend it for any new raw foodie or veteran looking for some fresh ideas.

The ebook may be ordered here.

13 thoughts on “Paul Risse: Small Town Raw, Big City Taste

  1. Could not agree more in regards to the raw food/spirituality thing being a huge turn off! I had a big smirk on my face when I was reading that 😉 I haven’t heard of Paul Risse before, but you’ve got me curious! I’m just about to go and make friends with Google and his name. Haha.

    • Yes! A few of my friends are skeptical as well. Raw foodies have a tendency to take things to a level in which is doesn’t belong for me.

      Paul Risse is known by all the hot shots of raw food, but he isn’t one himself. He has been around, but doesn’t have a lot of paraphernalia. I simply adore him. He is incredibly sexy. All concepts of food and health escape me when I look at him, but maybe you can focus enough on his words rather than his looks to gather the knowledge he is trying to share. The man is a genius when it comes to health and wellness. Unfortunately he does not have a lot in the way of videos or articles, but if you’re willing to spend the money and interested in raw food, definitely get the ebook. I’m a broke college kid and unwilling to spend much on anything. If I bought the book, its worth it.

  2. Hey, I thought I will drop you a line. Thank you for looking at my blog! You are my first visitor for this blog!
    In your last post you wrote “While I love raw food, I am turned off by the spirituality of many raw food spokespeople and I know others feel the same. This has caused me to steer clear of many YouTube channels and blogs. I do not share in their divine, otherworldly tendencies. It seems every little snack or juice turns into a transcendental experience.
    Paul is one of the few I can listen to without rolling my eyes and fast forwarding to the recipes. Even the spiritual nonsense.”
    It really made me laugh. I do not share your position, but totally understand what you are talking about – how in the world to talk about spiritualty without resorting to cliché. I think I am going to take a shot at it – man I hate cliché…
    I have to admit that I feel nervous about getting commented with the online raw food community…
    See you soon,
    Eva

    • That’s awesome that you’re able to open up and be spiritual with yourself. I find I tense up and feel awkward. While I joke about how lame and cliche it all is, what it really comes down to is my lack of comfort in celestial thought. For me, I don’t care either way, but for some people who wish to reach out, this awkwardness can be debilitating.

      I look forward to reading more of your blog!

  3. I loved your choice words on the subject of transcendental snacks. On one hand, I can sympathize with people who get high off how good they are feeling. On the other hand, it would be great if there was an equally dominant presence from people who like to keep their feet on the ground while they explore. Sometimes I feel like there is such a pressure to feel stuff! I feel stuff, sure, but is it what they’re feeling? Is it a social placebo effect? Who can tell when we’re all being so dramatic. ^_~

    Thanks for the book review – solid topic!

  4. Hello, your review of my book was one of the best things I have read 🙂 Your writing style is clear, concise, intelligent and has a very distinct style. I may be posting your blog on my facebook if that is ok with you? I will be in NY at some point this year and would love to have a conversation over lunch. Have an awesome weekend.

  5. Thanks for visiting my Blog. I agree with you regarding people that turn diet into a religion—the spirituality you speak of.

    For me, it is all about how my body feels. And I mean health wise and energy wise. My first few years as a vegan I was a raw foods vegan. However, being a vegan already means being a member of one of the smallest minorities in America and food is a big part of culture. If you don’t eat what most other people eat, you don’t fit in.

    Therefore, after the first few years, I started to eat cooked vegan food in addition to the occasional, rare free range, organic egg or an ounce of two of wild salmon. When I say rare, I mean at most once or twice a month for one or two meals.

    For me, it is all about health and living without headaches, indigestion, the common cold, the annual bout of flu, etc.

    In addition, avoiding painkillers of all kinds puts me more in touch with my body so when my body tells me something is wrong, I do not drug it. Instead, I make a doctor’s appointment to find out why and what I can do to fix and return to that normal feeling of vegan health that I have enjoyed for about thirty years now.

    It has not been easy. When my parents were still alive, they worried about me because I wasn’t eating like them. Some believe you have to eat meat to be healthy and think I’m nuts and of course I am nuts. I eat many nuts. LOL.

    The thing is every time I have strayed too far away from the vegan diet (and I do stray now and then–but not often and not with red meat, chicken or turkey), the indigestion and headaches return fast. I’m not even going to go into detail of the one time I strayed too far and bought a double scoop of Baskin Robbins. Before I ate half of it, I threw it away. The sugar rush was WOW! Unreal!

    I now use pain as a barometer to keep me vegan. When I eat something and the pain returns soon after I eat, I don’t touch that type of food again and a lot of cooked vegan food is processed.

Leave a Reply

