Food Journal Accountability Final Days 20-21

Day 20 was about preparing for New Year’s Eve. I ate a full breakfast of quinoa, coconut milk, walnuts and hazelnuts. Delicious and filling. By lunch time I was still full, but to eat I made myself a pretty big salad. I had an apple for a snack before dinner and a tasty lentil stew for dinner with tomatoes, potatoes, celery, lentils, vegetable broth, and some other veggies. I also enjoyed half a baked sweet potato with dinner.

New Year’s Eve was spectacular, but that is for another post. I began the morning with lots of water. Had a big bowl of oatmeal with fruit around noon and a salad and bruschetta for dinner. Delicious! Once the party began I snacked on some chips, by 3am I had a piece of pizza and at 6am before passing out I shared a bowl of ramen with a friend of mine. All part of the celebration. These things will be kicked now that it is 2012.

I lost a total of 5lbs over the course of the past 21 days. I feel great! I did not incorporate as much exercise as I initially intended but I revamped my workout this morning with a trainer (a post with details is coming).

I have learned a few things from this experience: blogging daily about my food intake it too much. I hope I didn’t overwhelm anyone during this process. I also learned that I drink a ridiculous amount of coconut milk (not a bad thing) and I need to work on consuming more complete proteins. This can be done a variety of ways. Quinoa is the only plant-based complete protein; however grains can cause inflammation and can prevent the absorption of nutrients. Spirulina is a good source of omega-3, but does not have 6 or 9. I know root vegetables are good sources of these other types. I’ll do some research and post shortly.

Thanks for sticking with me through this!

4 thoughts on “Food Journal Accountability Final Days 20-21

Leave a Reply

