Food Journal Day 1

Day one of accountability began with a late start. I’ve been pretty much sleep deprived for the past two weeks, living on 4-5 hours a night due to long hours, lots of studying and stress catching up to me. Rising around 10:30AM, getting in a solid 8 hours, I began my day with 24oz of water and a frolic in the backyard with my dogs.

For breakfast I made a smoothie with the following ingredients:

  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Organic Acai juice (not from concentrate)
  • Juice of half a Myers lemon
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Coconut milk

Threw it all in a blender and added a bit of water to make the blending easier. YUM.

A smoothie in the morning can hold me over for hours. This one was happened to have a lot of sugar. I need to do some grocery shopping as I don’t have any blendable greens right now. Spinach works really well as it isn’t too fibrous. I tend to add a handful to most smoothies as well as some spirulina. I should also break out the juicer again.

For lunch, my parents invited me out. This was little bit tough as the restaurant did not have many options (it was a pizza joint). I ended up stuck with a pretty bland salad.

The salad contained chopped romaine, red onion, garbanzo beans, olives, tomatoes and had a bit too much Italian vinaigrette. Definitely should have asked for dressing on the side. Otherwise, it was tasty. Once home, I ate two dates and made a cup of chai tea, no milk or sweetener.

I continued to drink copious amounts of tea and water throughout the remainder of the day, sticking mainly to green teas to ease up on the caffeine.

For dinner, I had to push myself to eat. Tea has a tenancy to make me feel really full. I had a few leftover veggies in the fridge from yesterday so I made a plate of cooked carrots, raw green pepper and cucumber. I also had a glass of water mixed with a tablespoon of powdered psyllium husk. It is a great source of fiber and really helps to scrape out your insides.

As today is Sunday, it is time for my weekly weigh in. This morning I weighed in at 140lbs. I don’t suggest taking weight seriously. What is scale says is not important. A healthy weight for one person can be a very unhealthy weight for another. I know from personal experience with my body that a weight of roughly 130lbs is best for me. I feel healthiest and strongest at that weight when eating the right foods and exercising. That was my weight about 3 years ago when I went vegan for a few months. I felt amazing and looked amazing and it is my goal to get back to that feeling, not necessarily that weight. For the past two years I have been fluctuating from 135-140lbs and feel okay, but not as great as I did when eating vegan. Hence why I am switching back to that lifestyle.

As for my feelings physically, I felt pretty good for the day. Had to pee a lot due to all the tea consumption, but its a great way to clear out your system. A little tired and stressed, but overall nothing too significant. Emotionally, I’m going through a lot of nonsense with my boyfriend that has been bringing me down, but leaving that at the door, I don’t currently have any feelings towards the new food lifestyle that I am attempting to lead. Over the past few weeks I’ve been primarily sticking to this diet with the small cheat here and there. Cutting out those cheats may take a toll on me. We’ll just have to see.

Exercise for my day has been minimal. I spent most of the time sitting at the computer or at my desk studying for my two finals on Wednesday. I did take my dog for a 30 minute power walk right as the sun started to set. I intended on it being longer, but the cold was beginning to get to me. Walking is one of the best things you can do. When I had my puppy in my old apartment with no yard we went for 20-40 minute walks about 3 times a day with quick little 10 minute bursts in between. I felt a major difference after a week. Everything was tighter and I had a lot more energy. I know walking this often can be tough for most people with work and life (I certainly don’t have time for it now), but taking 30 minutes in the morning and 30 minutes in the evening is enough to make a huge difference and it is manageable. But remember, eating well is just as important.

I look forward to another successful day tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Food Journal Day 1

Leave a Reply

