Hawaiian Adventures Days 1-2

Thursday, October 27th

Touchdown.

A ten hour flight passed with no internet, migraines, and the company of a DC native living locally in Oahu for the past 13 years. I arrived at the airport early with the best intentions of completing vast amounts of homework and essays while on the aircraft. However, unbeknownst to me, Continental does not have WiFi, one of the few airlines that doesn’t. Instead I spent the time trying to sleep, watching Captain America (provided entertainment) and an episode of the Big Bang Theory. This was working out wonderfully until a mild headache set in.

I decided to drink some water and try and sleep it off. Soon it turned into an intense headache. I popped a few aspirin provided by the flight attendant and reverted back to my earlier attempt of sleeping. This failed and I soon found myself with a full on migraine, nausea included. I spent the rest of the flight throwing up in the airplane bathroom and trying to manage a splitting headache.

I did steal a few good words with my neighbor on the local hot spots and various things to do while on Oahu. He was super friendly and helpful. I tend to get lucky on airplanes with the people I sit next to.

After grabbing my bag from the baggage claim, I took a shuttle to the Hale Koa on Waikiki Beach. This is an all military, veteran or military family hotel right on the beach. It’s gorgeous. Waiting for me was my handsome boyfriend with a huge bouquet of tropical flowers (birds of paradise, red and white ginger).

After a long embrace, me attempting to hold back tears of joy, we made it upstairs to the room for a romantic evening of red wine and beautiful ocean views.

Friday, October 28th

The day began slowly (island speed) as neither of us wished to get out of bed or pull away from each other’s embrace. Eventually we unwound our limbs and made it down to the hotel’s breakfast cafe for a special treat: The Pineapple Boat and a glass of guava juice.

While I dined in fruity decadence, my boyfriend feasted on a pound of bacon, macadamia coconut waffles and hash browns. I believe he included one or two pieces of melon in his meal for my sake. He found it amusing to tempt the “then vegan” with crispy strips of bacon. I did not succumb, yet (will explain later).

Breakfast was followed with a relaxing stroll around the hotel grounds and to the beach. Planning ahead, he surprised me with a couples massage that afternoon. To pass the time in between we shared drinks at the Barefoot Bar on the beach. I had a sweet concoction of almond liquor, coconut rum, banana, something pink, and some other rum. A Pink Dimple.

We made our way along the grounds to a beautiful set up of outdoor tents enclosed in a private area by thick tropical greenery. The hour long rub down was incredibly relaxing and rejuvenating after a long flight and jet lag. So much in fact that my boyfriend was being massaged by a cute little blonde and I did not mind in the slightest. It was divine.

An hour later, practically asleep, the masseuse roused me and my man and we slowly made our way back to the room. That evening we walked along the Ala Moana Blvd, stopping to glimpse the fish in the channel and headed to the outdoor mall. Our first stop: The Pineapple Room.

This restaurant popped up in my search for good Hawaiian food and it is a bit expensive and definitely meant for tourists, but the food was good and the atmosphere relaxing. We were both still in a daze from the massage but shared a lovely meal at the bar with a very friendly bartender. I enjoyed a fresh garden salad and he, ahi with an Asian slaw. I snuck a few bites of the slaw and it was very good.

Now it was time for some shopping. Coming from Kabul, Kyle had little to no clothing with him. Only a pair of jeans and a few shirts all of which had been crumpled in the bottom of his bag for the past 6 months. We headed to Macy’s where I left him be for a bit to pick out some things and  wandered off to Sephora to grab some essentials. I tried out Carol’s Daughter Black Vanilla Shampoo and Conditioner which I just loved! Did wonders for my hair. Also grabbed some Burt’s Bees sun screen and lotion at the CVS before meeting up with him at Macy’s.

The next two hours were tension filled. I do not know exactly what happened but somehow we became annoyed at each other. I initially was a little upset that he asked me to leave so he could look around. I had been under the impression that he wanted my help. Then when I had returned he asked me for my opinion then got annoyed when it was not what he wanted to hear. Mainly had to do with jean fit. I liked them a bit more tailored, he did not like the ones I liked. I do not remember all the details in full, but at multiple occasions he told me to go back to the hotel and he would see me later. I was uncomfortable walking back alone at night in a neighborhood I was not familiar with and I did not even fully know the way.

I ended up wandering around Macy’s for most of this time, trying not to cry as I simply did not understand how he could be so annoyed at me after only 24 hours together. We had not seen each other in 6 months and we can’t even be together for 24 hours? I was getting very upset. When we reunited, I tried to be friendly, acted as if I was totally okay and did my best not to negatively critique anything. I thought I was doing a good job until we exited the mall and began the trek back to the hotel. He yelled at me and cursed quite a bit. All out of annoyance, but It cut me deeply. He even went so far as to say we should spend the next day apart. I simply shut down. Walked back in silence. I returned to the room, he went down to the post exchange to pick up some things.

Once in the room and alone, I poured myself a large glass of wine and sat out on the balcony. I played the evening over in my mind trying to figure out where all the tension came from. I just didn’t get it. I was not annoying, nor was I being negative. Just offering a simple opinion by saying which things I preferred.

It felt like an hour had gone by before he returned. At this point I was fairly drunk, on the balcony, and doing very well at holding back tears. He had enjoyed a beer to himself before returning upstairs. He began to talk to me. I don’t even remember what about but I broke down. I started to cry and not normal crying, but intense, wine assisted tears. He tried to explain that its because of the deployment and him not being used to normal things… I really did not care. I was just upset and I did not even want him to touch me when he tried to give me a hug. I couldn’t believe he didn’t even want to spend the next morning with me (I had been excited about going to the farmer’s market together).

Eventually I calmed down a bit and we managed to talk. It took me a bit to open up but I managed to explain why I was so upset- him being so annoyed after only 24 hours, me not understanding what I did wrong, and him not wanting to share the next day with me. We came to the conclusion that we just shouldn’t go shopping together and intended on doing tomorrows things as initially planned.

Overall, we both overreacted, but as the day drew to a close, things seemed like they would be okay.

Leave a Reply

