Juice Fast Days 3 and 4

This whole idea of juicing is very new to me and I’ve been doing some research. A few goods points I came across are the following:

– Drink a gallon of juice a day. Yes, a GALLON. This is a lot of juice and a lot of produce to make said juice. I have not been drinking anywhere near this much, probably only four 8oz juices a day. Which is fine for me, but I can feel my body get hungry for more. Drinking a gallon is supposed to keep you full and hyper energized.

– At home enemas. Gross right? If you don’t know what an enema is, Google it. I won’t go into details, but its a nice little colon cleanse. While it may sound a bit disgusting and intense, it actually seems quite simple. I won’t have the opportunity to try it any time soon, but I definitely intend to.

Enemas are great to cleaning the body and removing old waste that can build up and slow us down. Plus, its even better to do them daily during a juice fast to really scrub your system out and hydrate the body. It only takes about 45 minutes and at home kits can be purchased at your local pharmacy for less than $20. There are a bunch of different kinds, coffee (special enema coffee), peppermint, chamomile, some people use a bit of Dr Bronner’s lavender Castile soap, others simply use plain water. I really want to start getting into it as there are a lot of benefits to having a healthy, hydrated colon.

– Since I haven’t mentioned it, the entire point in juicing is to flush out your system. It provides your body with plenty of micro nutrients, or nutrients found in foods straight from the earth rather than processed, refine, or already used (such as meat). You may not be eating food, but you’re feeding your body’s needs. Some people juice for a few days, some have juiced for 60 days. Check out the documentary ‘Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead.’

Anyways, back to me. My day 3 went fairly well. I stuck to juice and water but I did end up having some apple crisp when I got home. Just a bite… It’s homemade, was technically raw when I ate it, so I don’t feel too guilty. Anyways, today was much better. I had a HUGE glass of carrot and red beet juice with fresh mint. This was very tasty and refreshing, it did however turn my mouth and teeth pink.

The sun was shining, there was a refreshing breeze blasting its way through town, my morale was very high. I decided to take my dog Darby out for a walk. Then I ran a few errands around town and did some school work, pretty dull, before downing another HUGE glass of juice. Kale, cucumber, cilantro, parsley, zucchini, celery and apple. Very good. This was delicious. Surprisingly. Not as tasty and the beet and carrot one, but for all the kale involved, it was very pleasant. The cilantro kind of rounded it all out. Now I’m filling out paperwork for my new job starting in December.

Some upcoming events to look forward to, spa trip on Saturday and lunch down in Greenwich Village with the lovely Caitlin (I’ll try and get some photographs) and I leave on the 27th for a two week trip in Hawaii. So excited! I’ll write more about that later, plus post tons of photos!

In the wise words of Dara, “Get your Greens on!”

Leave a Reply

